Mind blowing SEO improving and Google rank increasing Signature Rotator SEO Tool.

Thread: 

How to get Posting in check like in letsforum ?

Ads
Evanto Offline referral

Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 1

#1
Junior Member
In letsforum we see there is a checkbox before posting a thread
How to implement it ?
I know there is a plugin for checkbox validation but i want to get something similar to letsforum
Hoping for an answer
victor Offline referral

Posts: 638
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 33

#2
Senior Member
Well it easy man you just need to disable the input field then add a JavaScript checkbox so that when the checkbox is checked the input field gets enabled.

You can try this:
First backup your newthread template
Open your newthread template, somewhere in the template add this code:

PHP Code:
<script>
function 
enable_text(status) {
    
status = (status) ? false true
    
document.form1.other_name.disabled status;
}
</script> 

Add this code to where you want your checkbox to show

PHP Code:
<tr>
<
td class="trow2" width="20%"><strong>YOUR TEXT HERE</strong></td>
<
td class="trow2"><input type="checkbox" name="others" onclick="enable_text(this.checked, 'mycheckbox')"/>SOME MORE TEXT</td>
</
tr

Now find:

PHP Code:
<input type="text" class="textbox" name="subject" size="40" maxlength="85" value="" tabindex="1" /></td

And add to it id="mycheckbox" disabled="disabled" it should look like this:

PHP Code:
<input id="mycheckbox" disabled="disabled" type="text" class="textbox" name="subject" size="40" maxlength="85" value="" tabindex="1" /></td
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#3
Support Team
Sorry for such a late reply I was away from home.
You don't need a plugin for this, just as Victor mentioned above you need to disable the input field then add a checkbox to enable it, let me show you how you can do it!

Open your newthread template which is in ACP >> Templates & Style >> Templates >> Your Template >> New Thread Templates >> newthread
Above </head> add this code or similar one:

PHP Code:
<script type="text/javascript">

  function 
enableText(checkBooltextID)
  {
    
textFldObj document.getElementById(textID);
    
textFldObj.disabled = !checkBool;
    if (!
checkBool) { textFldObj.value ''; }
  }

</script> 

Find {$loginbox} and after it add this code or similar one:

PHP Code:
<tr>
<
td class="trow2" width="20%"><strong>some text</strong></td>
<
td class="trow2"><input id="myCheckBox" type="checkbox" onclick="enableText(this.checked, 'myTextArea');"/>some text</td>
</
tr

Now find this code:

PHP Code:
<tr>
<
td class="trow2" width="20%"><strong>{$lang->thread_subject}</strong></td>
<
td class="trow2">{$prefixselect}<input type="text" class="textbox" name="subject" size="40" maxlength="85" value="{$subject}tabindex="1" /></td>
</
tr

And replace it with this one:

PHP Code:
<tr>
<
td class="trow2" width="20%"><strong>{$lang->thread_subject}</strong></td>
<
td class="trow2">{$prefixselect}<input id="myTextArea" type="text" disabled="disabled" class="textbox" name="subject" size="40" maxlength="85" value="{$subject}tabindex="1" /></td>
</
tr

And that is it, I used Victor JavaScript but you can use your own if you wish!!!!
destroyer Offline referral

Posts: 430
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 3

#4
Senior Member
I am not an expert here but it looks like you both made a mistake here, you posted disabled="disabled but it should be disabled="disabled" Smile
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#5
Support Team
Thanks @Destroy for correcting me I have just updated my reply
Evanto Offline referral

Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 1

#6
Junior Member
I used above example but it didn't work out for me, the subject field is disabled i guess even after i click checkbox

I am using default MyBB theme, i can't post content of my template so i sent a PM to marcus
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#7
Support Team
I am sorry but the reason it doesn't work is because of the JavaScript, I have just updated my reply it should work now!
victor Offline referral

Posts: 638
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 33

#8
Senior Member
You can use this method to enable input filed or text field with checkbox
PHP Code:
<html>
<
head>
</
head>
  <
body>
<
input type="checkbox" onclick="document.getElementById('directory_entry_name').disabled=!this.checked;" id="directory_entry" />
<
input type="text" id="directory_entry_name" disabled="disabled" />
   </
body>​​​​
</html
Evanto Offline referral

Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 1

#9
Junior Member
Thanks a lot marcus_avrelius , it works awesome Wink
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#10
Support Team
Thanks very much @Evanto I am glad it works Wink if you have any further questions related to MYBB templates please feel free to post a new topic.
Evanto Offline referral

Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 1

#11
Junior Member
There is a bug with this, if we preview the post after writing subject and message then the checkbox doesn't stay
Can you give a solution on this ?
ivan Offline referral

Posts: 713
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 6

#12
Senior Member
It's better this way because spammers might use preview post to bypass this checkbox !
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#13
Support Team
That is correct spambots will use it to bypass this feature so just leave it the way it is!





User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)