Mind blowing SEO improving and Google rank increasing Signature Rotator SEO Tool.

Thread: 

Need Help With The Header

Ads
banner
banner
banner
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#1
Junior Member
I want to have exactly the same design menu like lets forum has here for my forum
Any help will be appreciated
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#2
Support Team
Hi thanks for joining LETSFORUM.

You have to understand that the content of our site is under copyrights protection and you can't have the same thing however you can have similar one Smile

I recommend you to download the new MYBB 1.8 and it has pretty similar to this one template.
ivan Offline referral

Posts: 713
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 6

#3
Senior Member
Scraping code from other websites and duplicating content will get you in trouble fast. Simply use as an example to create your own header that will match your MYBB forum theme or template.
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#4
Junior Member
copying code and what ?
I just need help with setting up my header menus. Now i don't want to state who told me what and where. Thanks for all this. I will remember this.
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#5
Support Team
You mean the top menu that says:
Quote:Marketplace Webmaster Forum SEO Forum Internet Marketing Forum RSS

Please post your board URL in this format since I have to take a look at your wrapper and current menu: example(dot)com
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#6
Support Team
Got your URL and you need to re-design your entire header template buddy you have to combine it with the one from 1.6 and 1.8 version.
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#7
Junior Member
I am not good with that. That is why i am here asking for your help. I can provide you with the links that i want to be present in the top menu and the ones for second menu as well
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#8
Support Team
You can do something like this:

ACP >> Templates & Style >> Templates >> Your Template (default if you don't use a custom one) >> Header Templates >> header

Find:
PHP Code:
{$quicksearch

Replace it with:
PHP Code:
<ul class="menu lower_links">
<
li><a href="#" class="help">Link 1</a></li>
<
li><a href="#" class="help">Link 2</a></li>
<
li><a href="#" class="help">Link 3</a></li>
<
li><a href="#" class="help">Link 4</a></li>
                    </
ul

Replace the link names and URLs. Also to add or remove ones simply add or remove.
PHP Code:
<li><a href="#" class="help">Link</a></li

Add this code to your global.css
Code:
.menu.lower_links {
    float: right;
}

Now find inside global.css
Code:
#header ul.menu li a

And remove or better out-comment (/*code*/)
Code:
background-image: url("../../../images/headerlinks_sprite.png");

Simply adjust fonts, add links and backgrounds.

Remember not to make any changes on your life online forum test it first on your test forum.
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#9
Junior Member
can you please do it for me?
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#10
Support Team
Please PM me your header template or give me temporary access to your Admin Control Panel.
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#11
Junior Member
please check the pm
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#12
Support Team
I receive your PM and will take a look at it soon don't expect me make it in an hour Smile will take some time which I don't have Smile Anyways I will keep you updated here.
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#13
Junior Member
i'd appreciate if we could do it quickly.
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#14
Support Team
Buddy please send me FTP access need to access your global.css file can't do it through ACP cause you have some issues there.
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#15
Junior Member
details sent

Menu that has search is missing icosn. Please do take a look

Another thing i noticed is the reduced gap between user cp, admin cp, mod cp, open buddylist..... This is the third menu after someone is logged in
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#16
Support Team
Sorry I have not finished yet it was late yesterday. I will take care of logged in user links they only need padding cause I deleted it from all header links. Also links without icons you mentioned will require YOU to create ones and upload them to your image directory. I will crease css background and you will then create 16x16 pixel icons and upload them to your server OK
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#17
Junior Member
Hi thanks. Please set the default icons for search members etc menu. Top menu is fine without icons

the default mybb icons for Portal Search Member List Calender Help that are already there. We won't be using menus for top menu home, our mission etc this menu is fine as it is with no icons
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#18
Support Team
These are the images you have to create and upload to images/icons folder. The images have to have gif image extension and being 16px height and 16px width.

After you upload them hard refresh your browser Ctrl+F5

portal.gif
search.gif
memberlist.gif
calender.gif
help.gif
usercp.gif
modcp.gif
admincp.gif
khuram Offline referral

Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0

#19
Junior Member
I don't understand it Mr Marcus. weren't these images already installed when i upgraded my forum?

Anyways here is what i am going to do i am going to copy the icons directory of my other forum to this forum. That forum has the same theme and icons are working fine there

check pm marcus
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#20
Support Team
MYBB 1.8 is combining images using CSS sprites but I am adding css background image to each link.

Let me check please. Have you uploaded the images as I told you?





User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)