Mind blowing SEO improving and Google rank increasing Signature Rotator SEO Tool.

Thread: 

how to shorten forum name in online.php ?

Ads
lion Offline referral

Posts: 122
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0

#1
Member
Hello
I want to know how to shorten my forum name in online.php

Heart
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#2
Support Team
What do you mean by shorten name? What are you talking about?

Are you talking about page title? If so then go to: Who's Online Templates >> online on top of the template find: <title>{$mybb->settings['bbname']} - {$lang->users_online}</title> and change it.
lion Offline referral

Posts: 122
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0

#3
Member
see, in online.php
when a user is browsing index it says :
user browsing FORUM NAME

I want to shorten this (FORUM NAME)
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#4
Support Team
You mean under Location >> Viewing Forum xxxx???

Open functions_online.php which is located in ./inc directory find:

PHP Code:
$location_name $lang->sprintf($lang->viewing_forum2get_forum_link($user_activity['fid']), $forums[$user_activity['fid']]); 

Replace with:
PHP Code:
if(strlen($forums[$user_activity['fid']]) > "10")
        {
            
$forums[$user_activity['fid']] = my_substr($forums[$user_activity['fid']],0,10)."...";
        }    
                    
$location_name $lang->sprintf($lang->viewing_forum2get_forum_link($user_activity['fid']), $forums[$user_activity['fid']]); 

Change 10 to whatever the number of characters you wanna show before breaking the text and show ...
lion Offline referral

Posts: 122
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0

#5
Member
Thanks Dear Marcus, I will try it
Heart
lion Offline referral

Posts: 122
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0

#6
Member
How but this ยป
for example mybb.com in online.php :
Code:
MyBB Community Forums Main Index
MyBB Community Forums is the name of this forum
my forum name has more character than this forum
how can I shorten it (my forum name in online.php ) ?
marcus_avrelius Offline referral

Posts: 2,424
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 102

#7
Support Team
Would you please mind to take a screenshot so that I can finally figure out what you mean?
Oh looks like I finally understand what you talking about this is what I have: LetsForum.com - SEO Forum & Internet Marketing Forums Main Index

Fix:

Open functions_online.php file that is located in ./inc folder and find:

PHP Code:
// index.php functions
        
case "index":
            
$location_name $lang->sprintf($lang->viewing_index$mybb->settings['bbname']);
            break; 

Replace with:
PHP Code:
// index.php functions
        
case "index":
        if(
strlen($mybb->settings['bbname']) > "10")
        {
            
$mybb->settings['bbname'] = my_substr($mybb->settings['bbname'],0,10)."...";
        }
            
$location_name $lang->sprintf($lang->viewing_index$mybb->settings['bbname']);
            break; 

Replace 10 with your value!
lion Offline referral

Posts: 122
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0

#8
Member
yeah, that's what I wanted
Thank you very much
Heart





User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)